MFC 40: Weigh-In Results

Title fights locked at official

weigh-in for MFC 40

Middleweight & Lightweight crowns on the line Friday on AXS TV Fights


Both title fights are secured after the official weigh-in for the Maximum Fighting Championship’s MFC 40: Crowned Kings taking place on Friday night live on AXS TV Fights from the Shaw Conference Centre in Edmonton, Alberta.

MFC middleweight champ “Smilen” Sam Alvey (21-5) will make the first defence of his title putting his belt on the line against fellow Californian Wes “Nile” Swofford (9-4). Alvey toed the scale at 184.0 pounds while Swofford had no trouble as well stepping off at 184.2 pounds.

A rematch between Kurt “The Hurt” Southern and Tom “Da Tank” Gallicchio will also be officially for the MFC lightweight title. The title was going to be at stake when they first met at MFC 39 but Gallicchio missed weight. Under MFC rules, Southern (13-5) was still eligible to win the belt, but Gallicchio (18-8) earned a second-round submission victory. This time, there was no need to delve into the rulebook as Gallicchio weighed in at 154.2 pounds, and Southern was set at 154.4 pounds.

The weigh-in did produce some fireworks from the potential showstealer between lightweight Marcus “Bad Intentions” Edwards and Aaron “Gorilla” Gallant. After they were finished on the scale – both coming in at 154.8 pounds – the two went nose-to-nose on stage in front of a huge crowd at the City Centre Mall. Edwards then delivered a two-hand shove to Gallant’s chest and they needed to be separated. However, the duo weren’t quite done. After initially shaking hands backstage, they went nose-to-nose again, exchanging heated words until being broken apart once more.

The MFC 40 prelims will launch at 8:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. MT/5:30 p.m PT on the Maximum Fighting Championship’s Facebook page. AXS TV Fights will then take over the main card beginning at 10 p.m. ET/8 p.m. MT/7 p.m. PT.

MFC 40: Crowned Kings Official Weigh-In Results

MFC Middleweight Title

Sam Alvey (c) – 184.0

Wes Swofford – 184.2


MFC Lightweight Title

Tom Gallicchio – 154.2

Kurt Southern – 154.4



Victor Valimaki – 204.2

Bill Widler – 203.8



Kevin Croom – 136.0

Jesse Brock – 136.0



Aaron Gallant – 154.8

Marcus Edwards – 154.8


Catchweight (160 lbs)

Shane Campbell – 161.6*

Jerrid Burke – 159.4



Corey Gower – 135.0

Jon Barnard – 135.4



Levon Kinley – 155.4

Cody Moorman – 154.8



Mike Hay – 134.4

Justin Lavertu – 135.8


*Campbell misses weight and forfeits 20% of his purse to opponent

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment